Our Session Times

  Session
Monday morning  

Monday afternoon

9.15 – 12.15  

12.15 – 14.45

Tuesday morning  

Tuesday afternoon

9.15 – 12.15  

12.15 – 14.45

Wednesday 9.15 – 13:30
Thursday morning  

Thursday afternoon

9.15 – 12.15  

12.15 – 14.45

Friday 9.15 – 13:30

2021/22 Term Dates

Autumn Term 2021
Term starts: Wednesday 1st September
Term ends: Friday 22nd October
Half term: Monday 25th October – Friday 29th October (inclusive)
Term re-starts: Monday 1st November
Term ends: Friday 17th December
Christmas Holiday: Monday 20th December – Monday 3rd January 2022 (inclusive)

Spring Term 2022

Term starts: Tuesday 4th January
Term ends: Friday 18th February
Half term: Monday 21st February – Friday 25th February (inclusive)
Term re-starts: Monday 28th February
Term ends: Thursday 7th April
Easter Holiday: Friday 8th April – Friday 22nd April (inclusive)

Summer Term 2022

Term starts: Monday 25th April
Term ends: Thursday 26th May
Bank Holiday: Monday 2rd May
Half Term: Monday 30th May – Friday 3rd June
Term re-starts: Monday 6th June
Term ends: Tuesday 19th July

Please note that the Acland Memorial Hall is a registered polling station and as such needs to be made available when requested by West Berkshire Council.  As such, there may be ad-hoc days when the pre-school needs to closed to accommodate this.  As much advance notice as possible will always be given to parents.

Free Childcare & Parent Fees

Our hourly rate is £5.25 per hour.   Just for information… we are paid considerably less by the local authority for the childcare they ‘fund’.  Which is why we need to charge a Maintenance Fee and fundraise throughout the year.

Universal (15hrs) and Extended (30hrs) Free Childcare

All parents are entitled to 15 hours government funded ‘universal’ child care for their child from the term after they have turned three years old.  Some parents are entitled to 30 hours ‘extended’ funding.  To check your eligability and find out more please find the government information here: Help with Childcare Costs.

If parents are eligable, we are able to claim this funding on their behalf once we recieve a completed declaration form.  Any hours outside of a parents entitlement will incur fees.

PLEASE NOTE: we have to apply for parent funding, EVERY TERM, in the term BEFORE the child is entitled to it… so parents must confirm their session requirements and return their West Berkshire Council ‘Declaration Form’ (for 15 hrs entitlement) and/or their Childcare Tax Code & National Insurance Number (for 30 hrs entitlement) promptly.  Failure to do so may mean we miss the deadline and are unable to claim ‘free’ funding – in which case we will have to invoice parents directly.

Other Costs:

One-off Enrolement Fee: in order to secure a place at CAPS we need to charge a one-off Enrolement Fee of £50. This is non-refundable.  Even if parents are in receipt of full government funding, this is an additional cost that cannot be claimed from the government and is to be paid by parents. 

Annual Maintenance Fee: we charge an annual Maintenance Fee of £40 to cover essentials required on a day-to-day basis, such as cleaning supplies, paint, paper, tissues etc and also parents’ subscription to our online learning journey portal, eyLog.  This fee is charged to all parents regardless of when (in the academic year) they join the pre-school.  So if a child is with us for two years, parents can expect two invoices for this.  Even if they are in reciept of full government funding, this is an additional cost that cannot be claimed from the government and is therefore to be paid by parents. 

Please also see our Schedule of Fees 02-2022.